Blogger Interview: Filmhipster

219511_1361548431Chris Devine is the man behind filmhipster.com, one of the most beautifully designed sites I’ve ever seen from a fellow part-time reviewer (for which he was nominated for the best design category of last year’s Rorschach Awards).  Featuring wonderfully concise reviews of a broad range of films as well as features like his guest review segment, Hipster for a Day, Chris’ site is yet another one not to be missed.

Rorschach Reviews: What were some of the specific events or factors that led you to make the transition from movie lover to movie blogger?

Chris Devine: I always loved writing my thoughts down after a film, sure they were short thoughts, but thoughts all the same. I started writing reviews on Blu-ray.com, I’ve been a long time member there in the Home Theater Forum. From Blu-ray, I transitioned into Rotten Tomatoes and I waited patiently for someone to respond with either criticisms or glorious praise. Well, nobody showed sooooo…Rotten Tomatoes was getting rotten and WordPress was free, so I decided to sign up.
I’m a graphic designer by trade and have designed hundreds of websites in my career, but a simple old WordPress theme was fine with me. I wanted this to be fun and not a chore. So I wrote and wrote and wrote. In the beginning I was watching four movies a day, hence the short reviews. Lets just say work was slow at that time.
I didn’t realize that there was such a devout community out there and I didn’t think anyone would ever see my reviews. I think it was Andy from Andy Watches Movies that gave me my first ‘Like’ and from there I was hooked.
I’m proud to be a part of the blogging community but my hope isn’t to make a career out of it, I’m already an old fart. I just wanted to have some fun and meet interesting people who had the same passion for film as myself.
So going from movie lover to movie blogger was inevitable. Thankfully my wife doesn’t mind me texting notes on my iPhone during movie screenings. She supports what I do and is my number one fan.

RR: Very cool, I always enjoy hearing different bloggers’ origin stories.  Nice to hear that your wife is so supportive of your addiction, my girlfriend doesn’t have quite the dedication to join me at every screening I go to but she’s still my most frequent companion to theaters.  I always find it interesting to see movies with another person and discuss it with them afterwards.  Do you and your wife usually agree on movies?

20130973_BG1CD: Usually yes, except for the Twilight series. She loves those bloody films and I just can’t stand them. 
When we’re not at the theater we usually watch movies in the basement. We put our 2 year old to bed, light a fire, pop some popcorn, turn down the lights and get right into it. The movie that is.
We do have some pretty intense discussions about the film afterward, and those thoughts usually their way into my review. So filmhipsterette deserves a little mention as well. 🙂

RR: That’s a tough one to disagree on, there’s never room for middle ground with Twilight.  Does this mean you will be dragged along to The Host when it reaches a theater near you as well?

CD: That’s a tough one because I think Saoirse Ronan is a fine young actress, I loved her in Hanna. I’ll probably have to make a deal with her, if I get dragged to the The Host, she gets dragged to Evil Dead with me.

RR: That seems fair, I’m interested to hear what you both think.  Speaking of the Evil Dead remake, if you could see any movie adequately remade in Hollywood right now, what might you choose?

soylent-greenCD: That is a great question. I think I would have to go with Richard Fleischer’s 1973 sci-fi Soylent Green starring Charlton Heston. As a kid it was one of my favorite’s but it just seems so dated now.  It’s a frightening look at overpopulation and the short supply of food in New York in the year 2022. A must see for fans of the genre. “Soylent Green is People!!!!” I could see Ryan Gosling playing the lead.

RR: My god that would be amazing… I know they’re working on a remake of Logan’s Run with Gosling so who know, maybe Soylent Green could happen in the future.

Are there any movies being remade right now that you are offended by the very idea of?

logans-run-remake-1CD: I had no idea about Logan’s Run with Ryan Gosling, thanks for making my day. That’s great news.
I was offended by 2012’s Red Dawn, it was a complete disaster but I guess the original wasn’t that hot either.  I’m a little hesitant on the proposed remake of The Warriors which will be directed by Tony Scott. He has a good track record so hopefully it’ll be a success.

RR: Unfortunately, I don’t think Tony Scott with us any longer.  If I recall he took his own life last year, tragic.  I’m not sure if that means that the film is still moving forward or not, but it will be interesting to see.  I myself am a bit apprehensive about the remake of Carrie, the crow and Robocop, but ill reserve judgment until I see them.
Before we go, what is one word of advice you’d leave fellow aspiring bloggers with?

CD: Well I guess that’s that then, I didn’t know he passed away.  
I just saw the trailer for Carrie prior to Evil Dead and it looked pretty crappy. Looked like another X-Men sequel rather than a Stephen King adaptation.
One final word to leave my fellow bloggers with? Let’s see, I think I’ll quote the late Roger Ebert. 

“I’ll tell you, I think that the Internet has provided an enormous boost to film criticism by giving people an opportunity to self publish or to find sites that are friendly.” 

So be friendly out there and have some fun!

You can catch up with Chris at Filmhipster.com or follow him on twitter at @filmhipster.

About r361n4

I'm a student at the University of Washington Majoring Business. I've always loved movies and my goal is to work on the financial side of the film industry. Until then though, I figure I'll spare my friends from my opinions and shout them from a digital mountaintop for anyone who's interested. After all, if a tree falls in a forest and nobody blogs about it, does it really happen?
This entry was posted in Blogger Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Blogger Interview: Filmhipster

  1. This “Chris” doesn’t sound all there.

  2. filmhipster says:

    Thanks Andy for allowing me to participate. A lot of fun and great questions man!!

  3. Smash says:

    I love Filmhipster’s site. There’s always something interesting to read, and more often than not, I agree with his reviews. Keep up the great work Chris! 🙂

  4. theipc says:

    Very nice, boys!! You always remember your first “like” : )

  5. Java Girl says:

    Great questions and fun answers by Chris! A little fun bantering back and forth between couples regarding movies is always funny to listen to. I myself hate Twilight. 😛

  6. ruth says:

    Great interview Roschach, now I’m curious what your real name is 😉

    That’s a cool origins story Chris, I actually never wrote any review for any site before I started my blog. Well your blog is definitely fantastic, well-designed and great content, so well done man!

  7. ckckred says:

    Nice interview. Chris has a great blog.

  8. Great interview, guys! Enjoyed reading ya 😉

  9. Tyson Carter says:

    Gosling & Refn dropped the Logans Run idea……..

    Good work here boys. Chris, you say your a graphic designer? Will I have seen your work anywhere? 😉

  10. Good stuff guys. Chris has a great site, no doubt. Enjoyed reading that 🙂

  11. Mr Rumsey says:

    Great work guys!
    Chris you being a Graphic Designer makes a load of sense considering how good your site looks!
    I would just love to see Gosling continue in anything, I hope his break from acting isn’t too lengthy, but I guess we still have several great looking films of his lined up for us at the moment.

  12. elena says:

    When I finally realised Chris actually didn’t have an about me-page, I was really pissed for a while but then he wrote another review and won me over. Okay, no, really, Chris is very likely my absolute favourite film blogger and his site is divine, too (web designer, huh?) and I’m just generally happy to read more about him.

    Awesome blog you have here too… though I’m gonna have trouble writing the name. 😀

  13. Mark Walker says:

    Great interview guys. Chris is one of my favourite blogging buddies. Great site. Great guy.

  14. Great post!

    I’d like to see a remake of Gilligan’s Island.

  15. Nice interview, fellas. Filmhipster is a great site!

  16. Pingback: Evil Dead, 500,000 hits and Jurassic Park 3D | filmhipster

What did you think?

